Area / Group Name: Multimedia Technology and Applications

Use of multimedia in computing and presentation of data has been revolutionary and still evolving. This enlisted thrust area aims to develop applications, algorithms, architectures and prototypes using multimedia information from text, audio, video and novel sensory forms. Multimedia Technology and Applications have been acknowledged as emerging area by premier organizations and funding agencies such as DRDO, DIT, MHRD, UGC and DST.

Convergence and multimedia technologies is one of thrust areas identified by Department of Electronics & IT, India. Thrust areas identified by DRDO's Centre for Artificial Intelligence and Robotics (CAIR) include Computer Vision and Signal Processing. ACM recently started transactions on Multimedia Computing, Communications and Applications (2006) and Speech and Language Processing. IEEE started transactions to promote research in Audio, Speech and Language Processing (Started 2006). IFIP established technical committee on entertainment computing in 2002.

Researchers working in this group focus on core concepts and advancements in Audio and Video Water Marking, remote sensing images, biometric feature classifiers and visual cryptography. Currently, **18** faculty members are working in this broad area. **5** Ph.D.s have been completed and **10** more are in progress. Around **75** research papers and **1 book chapter** have been published in this area by JIIT faculty and students. **16** M.Tech. and more than **480** B.Tech. projects have been completed in this area

Further, the department is teaching several courses in these areas- Computer Graphics, Image Processing, Multimedia Interaction Design, Multimedia Computing and Computer Vision.

Faculty Group:

- 1. Vikas Saxena
- 2. Manish Kumar Thakur
- 3. Mukesh Saraswat
- 4. Tribhuwan Kumar Tiwari
- 5. Suma Dawn
- 6. Pawan Kumar Upadhyay
- 7. Prashant Kaushik
- 8. Ambalika Sarkar
- 9. Gaurav Kumar Nigam
- 10. Shardha Porwal
- 11. Varsha Garg
- 12. Aparajita Nanda
- 13. Bindu Verma
- 14. Gyan Singh Yadav
- 15. Himanshu Mittal
- 16. ANKIT VIDYARTHI
- 17. ANITA SAHOO
- 18. SHILPA BUDHKAR